The Hickstead Derby Meeting

  • galleryImage
  • galleryImage
  • galleryImage

The Derby is one of the most famous showjumping classes in the world. It is an iconic event, one that makes heroes of its human and equine stars, and in which the course itself is as famous as the horses and riders that embark upon it. No other event in the world asks this much of its entrants, and no other course creates this type of drama.

The All England Jumping Course was founded in 1960 by the late Douglas Bunn, and a year later his new showground played host to the first Hickstead Derby. Since then, many of showjumping's biggest names have won the class, including Nick Skelton, Michael Whitaker, John Whitaker, Harvey Smith and Ben Maher. Eddie Macken holds the record with four consecutive wins, and since then the Boomerang Trophy - named after Eddie's great horse - goes to the Derby winner.


It is the only class in which riders take on the front descent of the 10ft 6in Hickstead Derby Bank. But every fence in the course is difficult, especially the Devil's Dyke, the double of water ditches, and one of the widest water jumps in the world.


The June meeting concludes on Sunday afternoon with the showcase Derby, but the fixture also hosts a full range of senior national showjumping classes, with something for nearly every calibre of affiliated rider.


We also play host to many Horse of the Year Show showing qualifiers, a polo exhibition match and carriage driving. Our famous Mini Challenge too must not be overlooked; as the starting point of many of today's leading riders, it is the place to discover the stars of tomorrow.


 Member Inc Gen Admission General Admission 
 AdultChild/OAPFamily AdultSenior CitizenChildFamilyCAR
Thursday£26£20£80 £16£12£8£48£8
Friday£26£20£80 £16£12£8£48£8
Saturday£36£28£120 £24£18£12£65£8
Sunday£45£35£145 £30£24£15£85£8

Our Sponsors